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Department Staff Receives 

Esprit de Corps Award 
 
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 

bestowed its Esprit de Corps Award to the Nebraska Department 

of Insurance during its winter national meeting in Houston, Texas.  

Director Ann Frohman accepted the award, which was presented 

by NAIC President and Alabama Insurance Commissioner Walter 

Bell. 
 

“In recognition of the entire Nebraska regulatory staff’s 

outstanding leadership on a variety of insurance issues, I am 

proud to honor them with the Esprit de Corps Award.” Bell said. 

“Nebraska was one of the first states to adopt the Interstate 

Insurance Product Regulation Compact — and loaned staff to 

assist with the review of product filings with the Commission. The 

department has also been a participating SERFF state since 

2001.” 
 

Nebraska was recognized by Bell for its active participation in 

numerous NAIC committees, task forces and working groups — 

including the Property & Casualty Insurance Committee, the 

Climate Change & Global Warming Task Force, the Market 

Regulation and Consumer Affairs Committee, and the Workers’ 

Compensation Task Force.  
 

During the presentation, special mention was also made of 

former Nebraska Insurance Director Tim Wagner, who passed 

away in October from complications of a stroke.  “Tim was a true 

NAIC ambassador whose knowledge, expertise and kind and 

generous spirit set an example we all respected and admired,” 

Bell said. “In addition to Tim’s dedication in the area of climate 

change, he demonstrated creativity and leadership in many areas 

of insurance regulation.” 
 

The Esprit de Corps Award was established in 2006 to recognize 

outstanding service to the NAIC and the demonstration of a spirit 

of cooperation with its members.  The name of the award was 

chosen because “Esprit de Corps” is defined as “a common spirit 

of comradeship, enthusiasm and devotion to a cause among the 
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A Message from the Director…. 

 

Risk Management and Own 

Risk and Solvency Assessment 

Act Adopted 
 
LB 700, omnibus insurance legislation that 

includes three Department of Insurance bills,   

LB 700, LB 688, LB 926, and one other insurance-related bill, 

LB 993, was passed into law by Governor Dave Heineman. 
 

LB 700 Adopts a NAIC model act, the Risk Management and Own 

Risk and Solvency Assessment Act. The Act requires Nebraska 

domestic insurers with an annual direct premium of more than 

$500,000,000 and insurance groups writing more than 

$1,000,000,000 of annual direct premium to maintain a risk 

management framework and complete an own risk and solvency 

assessment.  The assessment, to be completed no less than 

annually, is a confidential internal assessment of the risks associated 

with the current business plan and sufficiency of capital resources.  

The own risk report will be submitted to the Director of Insurance 

upon request and while the report is allowed to be shared with other 

financial regulators, it is prohibited from any other disclosure.  The Act 

becomes effective on January 1, 2015. 
 

LB 688 Amends the Motor Vehicle Service Contract Reimbursement 

Insurance Act to state that an administrative hearing is required only 

if the subject of a cease and desist order requests a hearing within 

ten business days of receipt of the order.  Previously, the Act required 

a hearing when a cease and desist order is issued even if the subject 

of the order does not request a hearing.   
 

LB 926 Amends the Burial Pre-Need Sales Act, the Motor Club 

Services Act, and the financial services conglomerate law to change 

mandatory rulemaking to discretionary. 
 

LB 993 Provides that health care sharing ministries shall not be 

considered to be engaging in the business of insurance for the 

purposes of the insurance laws of Nebraska.  A health care sharing 

ministry is a faith-based nonprofit that meets certain statutory criteria 

established in the legislation.  Such a ministry must provide a written 

disclaimer on all applications and guideline materials that it is not an 

insurance company, its product is not insurance, and that it is not 

regulated by the Department of Insurance.   

          Bruce R. Ramge 
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2014 Session of the Nebraska Legislature 
 

The following is a brief summary of bills tracked by the Department of Insurance which were passed into 

law with impacts on the insurance industry.  Please refer to the specific bill language to determine the full 

effect of the legislation summarized below.  Some of the bills below have sections unrelated to the  

insurance industry and such sections are not summarized.  Unless otherwise noted, bills became effective 

on July 18, 2014.  The full text of any legislative bill is available on www.nebraskalegislature.gov.  Utilize 

the “Search Current Bills” tool to select a bill and then, once on the individual bill’s page, select “Slip Law 

Copy” to read the bill in its final, enacted form.   

 
LB 76 (Nordquist) Adopt the Health Care Transparency Act.  Creates the Health Care Data Base Advisory 

Committee to make recommendations to the Director of Insurance regarding the creation and  

implementation of a Nebraska Health Care Data Base, which is to be a tool to provide objective analysis of 

health care costs and quality, promote transparency for consumers, and facilitate the reporting of health 

care and health quality data.  The Director is to report the recommendations of the advisory committee to 

the Governor and Legislature on or before December 15, 2014.  LB 76 became effective on February 14, 

2014.  Information on the committee can be found at www.doi.nebraska.gov/hcdac/index.html. 

 

LB 254 (Adams) Eliminate a terminate date for insurance coverage for anticancer medication and  

provide insurance coverage for autism spectrum disorder and funding for amino acid-based elemental 

formulas.  Contains the provisions of three separate legislative bills: 

 LB 883 Eliminates the December 31, 2015, sunset date on Section 44-7,104, which requires a group 

or individual health policy, certificate, contract, or plan to provide coverage for a prescribed, orally  

administered anticancer medication on a basis no less favorable than intravenously administered or  

injected anticancer medications that are covered as medical benefits. 

 LB 505 Requires any individual or group sickness and accident insurance policy or any self-funded  

employee benefit plan to the extent not pre-empted by federal law to provide coverage for the  

screening, diagnosis, and treatment of autism spectrum disorder in an individual under twenty-one 

years of age.  The requirement does not apply to non-grandfathered plans in the individual and small 

group markets that are required to include essential health benefits under the federal Affordable Care 

Act.  Coverage for treatment, including applied behavior analysis, is subject to a maximum benefit of 

twenty-five hours a week.  The insurer shall have the right to request a review of that treatment not 

more than once every six months. 

 LB 397 Creates a program in the Department of Health and Human Services to provide  

reimbursement for amino acid-based elemental formulas to Nebraska residents with certain medical 

conditions.   The reimbursement is limited to fifty percent of out-of-pocket expenses. A maximum  

reimbursement of $12,000 during a twelve month period is available.  This provision became effective 

July 1, 2014.   

 

LB 701 (Dubas) Change provisions relating to salvage titles and acquisition of salvage titles by  

insurance companies.  Amends Section 60-173 to permit an insurance company to apply to the  

Department of Motor Vehicles for a salvage branded certificate of title without obtaining evidence of  

ownership from the owner if it has been at least thirty days from an acceptance by the owner of a  

settlement of a total loss and the company provides an affidavit that it has made at least two written  

attempts to obtain the proper endorsed certificate of title from the owner following an acceptance by the 

owner of an offer of an amount of a total loss and evidence of settlement. 

LEGAL DIVISION 

http://www.nebraskalegislature.gov
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LB 735 (Bolz) Require refund of certain insurance premiums upon death of insured.  Provides that upon 

the death of the insured of an individual sickness and accident policy or Medicare supplement policy, the 

insurer shall refund the unearned premium prorated to the month of the insured's death to a party legally 

entitled to claim the refund upon request, if the such request is made within one year of the death of the 

insured.   

 

LB 749 (Harr) Adopt the Nebraska Model Business Corporation Act.  Effective January 1, 2016, the bill 

repeals the current Business Corporation Act and replaces it with the Nebraska Model Business  

Corporation Act which is an updated revised model act approved by the American Bar Association. 

 

LB 753 (Gloor) Change a provision for notice of a change of address for an agent for service of process 

for a limited liability company and provide a filing fee.  Amends the Uniform Limited Liability Company 

Act to allow an agent for service of process designated by the limited liability company to change its  

address by notifying the LLC and filing a statement and paying necessary fees to the Secretary of State. 

 

LB 755 (Gloor) Adopt the Standard Valuation Act for valuation of insurance reserves.  Introduced on 

behalf of the Department of Insurance, the legislation adopts the Standard Valuation Act (a NAIC model 

act) to update the law governing the establishment of reserves by life and health insurers by replacing the 

current formulaic standards based on tables with a valuation manual based upon a principle based  

reserving approach to allow insurers to more accurately value the risk they insure.  The valuation manual, 

which will conform to the valuation manual adopted by the NAIC, will be prescribed by the Director of  

Insurance no later than July 1, 2017, and will become effective the January 1 after the date on which the 

Director prescribes valuation manual.  The valuation manual will be the minimum standard of valuation for 

policies issued on or after the effective date of the valuation manual.    

 

LB 816 (Murante) Authorize use of electronic forms of evidence of insurance for purposes of motor  

vehicle registration.  Amends the definition of ‘evidence of insurance’ in the Motor Vehicle Registration 

Act to include electronic format thereby allowing an individual to display evidence of insurance on an  

electronic device.   

 

LB 876 (Howard) Require a bodily injury exception from a pollutant exclusion in certain insurance  

policies. Provides that an exclusion in a homeowner’s or owner’s, landlord, and tenant’s policy of  

insurance for loss arising out of discharge of pollutants shall include an exception to the exclusion for  

bodily injury sustained within a building and caused by a heating or ventilation system.    

 

LB 961 (Cook) Provide for a fire fighting compact, change workers’ compensation provisions and  

require coverage for volunteer firefighters, change provisions of the Nebraska Hospital–Medical  

Liability Act, the Construction Prompt Pay Act, and the Employment Security law.  Section 3 of the  

legislation was originally LB 893, which increases the amount recoverable under the Nebraska Hospital-

Medical Liability Act from $1,750,000 to $2,250,000 for any occurrence after December 31, 2014. 

 

LR 422 (Campbell) Provide the Health and Human Services Committee, in cooperation with the  

Banking, Commerce and Insurance Committee, be designated to develop policy recommendations  

towards transformation of Nebraska’s health care system.  A continuation of LR 22 from 2013, the  

resolution directs the Health and Human Services Committee and the Banking, Commerce and Insurance 

Committee to work with stakeholders to develop policy recommendations regarding the health care  

system.  No later than November 14, 2014, the two committees are to hold a joint hearing to consider the 

policy recommendations developed.   
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Case Summaries     
 

Simmons v. Precast Haulers, Inc., 288 Neb. 480 (2014) 

 
Michael Simmons (Simmons) suffered extensive injuries during the course of his employment at Precast 

Haulers, Inc. (Precast) when a loaded tractor trailer ran him over and crushed his body. As a result of 

these injuries, Simmons was hospitalized a few months and incurred substantial medical bills. Upon 

release, he required rehabilitative therapy as well as a twenty-four hour in-home care assistant. In order 

to assist in his recovery, his physician ordered him to receive a custom powered wheelchair, a manual 

powered wheelchair, and a wheelchair accessible van. After Precast failed to timely pay his medical bills, 

provide the recommended assistive devices, compensate his spouse for in-home nursing care she 

provided, and timely pay his attorney fees, Simmons brought this action. The court held that Precast was 

required to provide and pay for a custom powered wheelchair, a manual powered wheelchair, and a 

wheelchair accessible van; Simmons’ spouse was entitled to be reimbursed for care services totaling 

$69,428.57; and Precast was ordered to pay Simmons’ attorney fees in the amount of $36,555. 

Precast appealed the order and the Nebraska Supreme Court granted review.  

 

The Court determined that the lower court did not err in awarding Simmons a wheelchair accessible van.  

Pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-120(1)(a), an employer is liable for all reasonable medical appliances. 

In Miller v. E.M.C. Ins. Cos., 259 Neb. 433 (2000), the court held that an appliance is compensable if it 

is “required by the nature of the injury” and “relieves pain or promotes and hastens the employee’s 

restoration to health and employment.” Simmons submitted his physician’s order that the van was 

necessary for his rehabilitation and Precast failed to provide any rebuttable evidence of that assertion.  

 

Precast also alleged the lower court erred in awarding compensation to Simmons’ spouse for nursing 

care because she was not providing care beyond normal household duties. In Currier v. Roman L. 

Hruska U.S. Meat Animal Res. Ctr., 228 Neb. 38 (1988), the court developed a three-part test to outline 

when a spouse may be reimbursed for in-home nursing care. Under the test, the employer must have 

knowledge of the employee’s disability and need of assistance as a result of a work-related accident; 

the care given by the spouse must be extraordinary and beyond normal household duties; and there 

must be a means of determining the reasonable value of the services rendered by the spouse. Precast 

argued the spouse should not be compensated for times when the spouse was not directly caring for the 

employee. The court dismissed that argument and found that even though Simmons’ spouse may have 

been sleeping or completing other tasks while providing services, she was still entitled to be 

compensated because she was available to perform the services during the times she was needed. The 

court held that to be reimbursed for in-home care, the court will look to the service provided and not the 

parties’ relationship. 

 

Finally, the court found the award of attorney fees was reasonable. Neb. Rev. Stat. § 48-125(2)(a) 

provides that an employee is entitled to reasonable attorney fees when the employer neglects to pay 

compensation for 30 days.  The reasonableness of attorney fees is a question of fact to be determined 

on a case-by-case basis by the trial court. Here, the court found that the evidence supported the award 

of attorney fees.  Thus, the Nebraska Supreme Court affirmed the entire decision of the Workers’ 

Compensation Court.  
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Actions Taken Against Producers 

CAUSE NO. ALLEGATION DISPOSITION 

   

A-1997 

Dustin Ourada 

Omaha, NE 
 

NPN - 13929075 

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44-4059(1)(a), (f), & 

(h). Provided incorrect information on an insurance 

license application; convicted of a felony or a Class 

I, II, or III misdemeanor; and used fraudulent,  

coercive, or dishonest practices.  

Consent Order 

$1,000 admin. fine 

5/7/2014  

A-1991 

Larry J. Hall and Capitol City 

Insurance, Inc. 

Lincoln, NE 
 

NPN – 229520 

NPN - 13277562  

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44-4059(1)(b), d), (h), 

(f), (n) and 44-4065(3). Violated any insurance law; 

improperly withheld, misappropriated or converted 

any money or property received in the course of 

business; used fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest 

practices; convicted of a felony or a Class I, II, or III 

misdemeanor; and failed to pay state income tax 

or comply with any administrative or court order  

directing payment of state income tax.  

Order 

Producer license revoked 

Agency license revoked 

5/15/2014  

A-2000 

John William Pribil 

Miami, FL 
 

NPN - 10162238  

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44‑4059(1)(b), (h), (i) & 

44-4065(3). Violated any insurance law; used  

fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices; and 

producer’s license revoked in another state.  

Order 

Producer license revoked 

5/16/2014  

A-2002 

Lori Stevens 

Omaha, NE 
 

NPN - 17229747  

Hearing requested for reconsideration of denial of 

application for resident producer license. 

Order 

Producer license denied 

6/2/2014 

Actions Taken Against Companies 

CAUSE NO. ALLEGATION DISPOSITION 

   

C-2073 

Phoenix Life Insurance Company  

(New York) 

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-1525

(11). Failed to respond to written  

inquiry from the Department or to  

request additional time to respond 

within fifteen working days. 

Consent Order 

$3,000 admin. fee 

4/3/2014  

C-2080 

Freestone Insurance Company  

(Delaware) 

Company determined to be in  

hazardous financial condition  

Order 

Certificate of Authority  

suspended 

5/15/2014  

C-2081 

Healthcorp International, Inc.  

(Texas) 

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. § 44-5814(1). 

Failed to file the required annual  

report.  

Consent Order 

Certificate of Authority 

surrendered 

6/6/2014  
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Continuing Education Requirements  
 

Producers are reminded to complete their continuing education requirements prior to their renewal month in 

order to give the education provider a reasonable amount of time to upload the education to the  

producer’s transcript.  Education providers have 10 days to upload continuing education transcripts.  If these 

transcripts are not uploaded to the resident producer’s record, then the producer will not be allowed to renew 

the license.  If continuing education is completed in the last month of the renewal period, there may not be 

enough time for the continuing education to show on the producer’s transcript and the producer will not be 

able to renew online. 

 

Reminder to Education Providers Regarding Inactive Courses and Contacts 
 

Education providers are reminded that courses do not expire.  As a result, some courses that are no longer 

offered by the provider may show up on the list of courses available.  The provider should regularly check their 

information on our website for accuracy.  The provider may notify the licensing division to remove any inactive 

courses by emailing doi.conted@nebraska.gov.  Providers may also update their contacts by typing over the 

current information via the Provider Summary page on www.statebasedsystems.com.  However, to  

completely remove a contact, the provider must notify our department. 

Actions Taken Against Producers (cont.) 

CAUSE NO. ALLEGATION DISPOSITION 

   

A-1999 

NP Dodge Title Services, LLC, 

Samuel L. Cooper, and Jill M. 

Kussman 

Omaha, NE 
 

NPN – 11654640  

NPN  -  5691372 

NPN  -  3194333  

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44-19,116(1)(c), 44-

4059(1)(b) and (h). Violated any insurance law; 

used fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices; 

escrow funds were disbursed without written  

instruction or agreement.  

Consent Order 

$1,000 admin. fine 

6/2/2014  

A-2001 

Arminda Kring 

Axtell, NE 
 

NPN - 15855970  

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44-4059(1)(b), (f), (h), 

and 44-4065(3).  Violated any insurance law;  

convicted of a felony or a Class I, II, or III  

misdemeanor; used fraudulent, coercive, or  

dishonest practices; and failed to report any  

criminal prosecution taken against the licensee 

within thirty days.  

Order 

Producer license revoked 

6/9/2014  

A-1998 

James Roberts 

Marrero, LA 
 

NPN – 1350449  

Violated Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 44-4059(1)(b), (h), (i), 

and 44-4065(1).  Violated any insurance law; 

used fraudulent, coercive, or dishonest practices;  

producer’s license revoked in another state; failed 

to report an administrative action taken against 

producer in another jurisdiction.  

Order 

Producer license placed 

on revoked status. 

6/30/2014  

  

PRODUCER  LICENSING  DIVISION 

mailto:doi.conted@nebraska.gov
http://www.statebasedsystems.com
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14th Annual Insurance Fraud Conference 
 
The Insurance Fraud Prevention Division (IFPD) is excited to host our annual conference for the insurance 

industry on August 21, 2014, at Eugene T. Mahoney State Park. This year’s topics include effectively  

managing complex and emerging insurance fraud issues, financial transactions, depositions and other 

discovery, and prescription fraud and drug diversion.  This conference has been approved for 6 hours of 

general ethics and anti-fraud continuing education for insurance producers through the Nebraska  

Department of Insurance. The Nebraska State Bar Association has also approved the conference for 5.5 

hours of continuing legal education for attorneys. For more information, or to register to attend the  

conference, please visit www.doi.nebraska.gov/fraud/2014IndustryConferenceBrochure.pdf. 

 

The IFPD’s conference for law enforcement personnel will be held at the same location on August 22, 

2014, and will emphasize law enforcement’s role, and steps they can take, to combat insurance fraud.   
 

 

Elderly Exploitation 
 
Financial abuse of the elderly is a serious problem of which many are unaware. A 2011 study conducted 

by MetLife Mature Market Institute estimated the financial loss from this type of abuse to be at least $2.6 

billion a year (Broken Trust: Elders, Family, & Finances). Financial exploitation occurs when a person  

misuses or takes the assets of an elderly adult for his/her personal benefit or use.   
 

According to the National Adult Protective Services Association (NAPSA), assets are commonly taken by 

means of deception, false pretenses, coercion, harassment, duress and threats. A recent study by the 

NAPSA found that one in 20 elderly adults reports being the victim of some form of financial exploitation 

and only one in 44 cases is reported.  It is very common for the financial abuser to be an individual close 

to the elderly adult such as a caretaker, family member, or friend.  Common forms of financial exploitation 

are theft, fraud, real estate, and insurance scams.  Within the insurance industry, exploitation may occur 

when an elderly client is sold an inappropriate product, such as a 30-year annuity.  Please see  

www.napsa-now.org/. 
 

Signs of financial exploitation include unusual bank activity/withdrawals that are out of character for the  

individual, suspicious credit card activity, and forged signatures on financial documents.  In these  

instances, the victims may not understand the financial arrangement being made and on what their  

money is being spent.  They may also be charged unreasonable fees for basic care and are not allowed to 

speak for themselves or make financial decisions.  Please see www.elder-abuseca.com/.   
 

There are many scams targeting elderly adults that have caused victims to lose thousands of dollars.  A 

scam that is gaining popularity is called the “grandparent scam” in which an individual calls an elderly  

person, from anywhere in the world, informing them their grandchild has been arrested and needs them to 

send bail money. Other scams targeting the elderly include foreign lottery scams, home repair scams,  

telemarketing/mail fraud scams, Craigslist scams, and IRS scams. 
 

Scams and other forms of financial exploitation are severely under-reported crimes costing elderly adults 

billions of dollars every year. Legislation has been passed to help protect the elderly but to be truly  

effective there needs to be an increased awareness of how to better safeguard the elderly and provide 

them with the tools to preserve themselves and their assets.  

 FRAUD DIVISION 

https://www.metlife.com/mmi/research/broken-trust-elder-abuse.html#findings
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Court Actions 

 
Adams County Court, CR13-1409 

State v. Norman C. Anderson 
Norman Anderson pled no contest to the amended charge of criminal attempt, theft by unlawful taking,  

relating to a claim involving his auto insurance company. Mr. Anderson was fined $100 and ordered to pay 

court costs. 
 

Box Butte County District Court, CR13-3 

State v. Isaac I. Gonzalez 
Isaac Gonzalez was charged with setting a fire with the intention of destroying a home, a Class III felony. 

Mr. Gonzalez subsequently pled no contest to the amended charge of attempted arson, a Class IV felony. On 

March 4, 2014, Mr. Gonzalez was sentenced to a 20-60 month prison term and ordered to pay $2,600 in 

restitution. 
 

Buffalo County District Court, CR14-29 

State v. Christian A. Walsh 
Pursuant to a plea agreement, Christian Walsh pled guilty to the amended charge of a fraudulent insurance 

act, a Class IV felony. On May 27, 2014, Mr. Walsh was sentenced to 30 months’ probation and ordered to 

pay $750 in restitution plus court costs.       
 

Dodge County District Court, CR13-135 

State v. Christopher J. Naber 
Christopher Naber was originally charged with five separate counts, including conspiracy to commit a  

burning to defraud an insurer. Mr. Naber pled guilty to an amended charge and was sentenced to 180 days 

in jail and one year of intensely supervised probation upon his release. 
 

Jefferson County District Court, CR13-20 

State v. Joseph C. Hochstein 
Joseph Hochstein contacted the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office 12 days after his renter’s policy went into 

effect and reported a burglary to his residence, and received an $8,469.57 insurance claim settlement as a 

result of the burglary. In a joint investigation conducted by the IFPD and the Beatrice Police Department, it 

was discovered Mr. Hochstein distributed his personal property among several individuals after reporting the 

fictitious burglary to the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office. Mr. Hochstein was charged with one felony count 

of insurance fraud.  Mr. Hochstein pled no contest to an amended charge and received a 20-60-month  

prison sentence and was ordered to pay court costs. 
 

Kearney County Court, CR13-162 

State v. Arminda L. Kring 
Arminda Kring was originally charged with a Class III felony count of insurance fraud.  Ms. Kring pled no  

contest to an amended charge of a fraudulent insurance act, a Class I misdemeanor. Ms. Kring’s sentence 

included a $200 fine, one-year probation, $4,472.57 in restitution, and court costs. 

 

Lancaster County District Court, CR13-346 

State v. Loretta M. Asche 
Loretta Asche was charged in Lancaster County with one felony count of insurance fraud pursuant to a claim 

she filed with her insurance company alleging the theft of property.  This count was later amended to a  

misdemeanor and Ms. Asche pled guilty as charged and was ordered to pay a $1,000 fine plus court costs. 
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Filings Required to Include Division Filing Form 
 
Several filings have been received that do not include the required division filing form. The Nebraska  

Department of Insurance Life and Health Division Filing Form is required to be completed and submitted 

under supporting documentation with all SERFF form and rate filings, as well as Plan Management Binder 

filings.  The required filing form can be found under the Nebraska filing rules in SERFF and also under the 

SERFF supporting documentation tab.  The SERFF filing rules are as follows: 
  

 Name: Life and Health Division Filing Form  

 Description: Life and Health Division Filing Forms as required by company bulletin CB-53 

 Use the Life and Health Division Filing Form. Complete a separate filing form for each form number  

submitted for a disposition. Example: if a policy, two riders and an application are submitted, complete 

and submit a total of four filing forms—-a filing form for the policy, separate filing forms for each rider, 

and a filing form for the application.  

 Business Type: Life, Accident/Health, Annuity, Credit 
 

Health rates are required to be filed as a separate SERFF filing and the referenced division filing form 

must be completed. All form numbers affected by the rates being submitted must be filled in.  A cover  

letter describing the filing in detail should also be submitted under the general information tab. 

 

The review of a filing will be expedited by ensuring that the division filing form is completed and submitted 

with the filing. 

 

 

Lancaster County District Court, CR13-413 

State v. Loris J. Austin 
Loris Austin was charged with four felony counts of forgery.  Ms. Austin pled no contest to all counts and 

must serve 30 months in prison and pay court costs. 
 

Sarpy County Court, CR13-6742 

State v. Richard C. Murphy 
Richard Murphy was found guilty of an amended count of insurance fraud regarding a false claim he  

submitted to his insurer. Mr. Murphy was fined $100 and ordered to pay investigative and court costs. 

 

 

 

 
Retirement Announced by Dan Eckstein 
 
I wish to announce my retirement from the position of Actuary with the Nebraska Department of  

Insurance, effective July 31, 2014. The assistance and cooperation I have received throughout the years 

made my work both interesting and rewarding.  Although I definitely feel it is time to move on to a new  

adventure in my life, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank all of the wonderful people who have made 

this ride possible.    —-Dan Eckstein 

  

LIFE  &  HEALTH  DIVISION 
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New Division Administrator Named 
 
The Property Casualty Division is pleased to announce that the new administrator of the division is  

Connie VanSlyke, effective July 1, 2014.  Most of you know Connie, as she has been with the division for 

over 20 years.  Prior to taking on this new role, Connie worked with workers’ compensation, professional 

liability, as well as several other lines of insurance. Connie’s phone number and email address remain  

unchanged. As a result of Connie’s promotion, you may be seeing a change in the analysts who handle 

each line of insurance. Once the lines have been reassigned, a new schedule will be posted on the  

Department’s website at www.doi.nebraska.gov/pc/email.pdf. 

 

  

PROPERTY  &  CASUALTY  DIVISION 

Thanks for the Memories… 

 

 

Agreements with Advisory Organizations 
 
Many of the companies admitted to do business in the State of Nebraska have an agreement with one 

or more advisory organizations to make filings on their behalf. This means that when the advisory  

organization makes a filing, it is making the filing “on behalf of” those companies that have that type of 

agreement in place.  Once final action is taken on the filing, it applies to all carriers that fall into that  

category. 

 

 

Over the years I’ve written so many newsletter articles, but this one seems a little more  

challenging.  

 

After 23+ years with the Department of Insurance, I have decided that it is time for me to retire.  

During my time at the Department as an analyst, and then later in my role as administrator, I have 

had wonderful opportunities to meet and talk to so many of you.  We have shared stories of family, 

pets (and they are family members, aren’t they?), challenges, recipes, ill health and bad hair days.  

We have survived the ups and downs of the marketplace, “de-reg”,  and the whole gamut of issues 

that faces everyone in the insurance industry on a daily basis.  We went from stacks of paper filings 

and dictating letters to electronic filings and communication by email. One does have to wonder, 

since everything is electronic—why do I have so much paper on my desk? 
 

I hope you’ll welcome Connie VanSlyke in her new role, as you did me.  You made it so easy to stick 

around and so very, very hard to leave.  —Bev Anderson 



   SUMMER 2014 

Page 11 

 

 

 

 

If a carrier makes the decision not to adopt or to delay adoption of the filing, the carrier needs to notify 

the Department. Please make sure that when you notify the Department of a delay or non-adopt of a  

particular filing, it is one that has been submitted to and approved by the Department. 
 

As many of you know, the advisory organizations make filings in different states at different times. The 

Department is finding that we are getting delay, or non-adopt notices on filings that have yet to be made 

in the State of Nebraska. 
 

Please take a moment to review your agreement with each of the advisory organizations so that you are 

aware of the type of agreement that is in place.  

 

 

 
Pre-Need Examinations Completed During Second Quarter, 2014 
 
EMM's Courts, Inc. dba Johnson Funeral Homes 

Farmer & Son Funeral Homes, Inc. 

Levander Funeral Home, Inc. 

Liewer Funeral Homes, Inc. 

Odean Colonial Chapel 

Professional Mortuary Services, Inc. 

Ramaekers Patrick Funeral Chapel 

 
Financial Examinations Completed During Second Quarter, 2014 
 
Ameritas Life Insurance Corporation 

Berkshire Hathaway Homestate Insurance Company 

Berkshire Hathaway Life Insurance Company of Nebraska 

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company 

Columbia Insurance Company 

Delta Dental of Nebraska 

HeartlandPlains Health (Qualifying Exam) 

Knox County Farmers Mutual Insurance Company, Inc. 

National Fire & Marine Insurance Company 

National Indemnity Company 

Northern Nebraska United Mutual Insurance Company 

Oak River Insurance Company 

Pacific Life Insurance Company 

Physicians Life Insurance Company 

Physicians Mutual Insurance Company 

Redwood Fire and Casualty Insurance Company 

Scandinavian Mutual Insurance Company of Polk County 

The Union Central Life Insurance Company 

York County Farmers Mutual Insurance Company  

 EXAMINATION  DIVISION 

 

Financial examination reports become public  

documents once they have been placed on official 

file by the Department.  The most current report of 

financial examination can now be found on the 

Department’s website at www.doi.nebraska.gov.  

Copies can be obtained from the Department at a 

cost of $.50 per page. 

http://www.doi.ne.gov
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Website:  http://www.doi.nebraska.gov         Phone:  402-471-2201          Fax:  402-471-4610         Hours:  8:00–5:00 

 

September 1:     Department Closed – Labor Day 

 

October 13:     Department Closed  -  Columbus Day Observed 

 

November 11:    Department Closed  -  Veterans’ Day  
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